The Japanese Navy fielded 12 battleships across 5 different classes during the Second World War. Those built during World War I were modernized extensively, but were never considered to be front line battleships as World War II dawned. Click the class name below to see the specifications of each of these ships.

Battleships built between 1910 and 1920

  • Ise (2 ships)
  • Fuso (2 ships)
  • Kongo (4 ships)

Battleships built between 1921 and 1935

  • Nagato (2 ships)

Battleships built after 1935

  • Yamato (2 ships + 1 converted to an Aircraft Carrier)